The sub-campus Narowal of University of Engineering & Technology Lahore was inaugurated by CM Punjab Shahbaz Sharif in 2012. The campus is linked with UET Lahore and is part of the Shahbaz Sharif's vision to make educational developments in under-developed areas of Punjab. The campuses will focus on the practical and industrial training. UET-Narowal campus is offering B.Sc in Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Civil Engineering and Computer Sciences & Engineering. At first 480 undergraduate students will be enrolled and the number will be increased in coming years.

University of Engineering and Technology (UET) Lahore was came into being 1921 as the ‘Mughalpura Technical College’ and afterwards it become ‘Maclagan Engineering College’. In 1923 the Governor of Punjab, Sir Edwards Maclagan inaugurated the main block of the university.  UET is a public university and the governor of Punjab is the chancellor of the university and manages university functions. UET Lahore has seven faculties, covering the 23 academic departments which stressed upon the engineering, business, scientific and technological education and research.

UET is among the top ranked engineering universities in Pakistan, according to the Higher Education Commission of Pakistan. In 2010, UET Lahore got the rank of 281st engineering and technology university in the world by QS World University Rankings. UET also conducts Engineering College Admission Test (ECAT) every year in Punjab province.